PHOTO BY CARMEN MARIE FABIO
Almost a year to the day since its removal, the historic windmill at Pointe-du-Mounin in Notre-Dame-de-l’Île-Perrot has had its roof reinstalled July 16 following an extended period of major renovation.
As reported in The Journal July 23, 2020 the iconic structure’s roof was removed for repairs which were carried out by the provincial government’s Société de développement des entreprises culturelles (SODEC), a not-for-profit organization which manages several historic buildings throughout the province. The next step will be to add new windmill blades known as ‘wings.’
The windmill was built between 1707 and 1708 and construction on the nearby miller house began in 1786. The windmill is one of only two functioning windmills of the 18 still in existence in Quebec.
Though the windmill itself remains closed to guided tours until the restoration is complete, the park itself is open to visitors and offers a number of events and activities respecting current hygiene guidelines.
More information is available at pointedumoulin.com