Recognizing those who have made an unforgettable impression on John Abbott College and beyond is a tradition that began just last year. Those nominated to the Hall of Distinction are alumni, employees, and friends of the College.

The 2017 alumni honorees unveiled Thursday, May 25, span three decades while the employees represent over 150 years of service to the College.

The nine people selected for this honour personify the dedication and hard work that has shaped John Abbott College in so many different ways.

“It is such a rewarding experience to hear the stories of all these great people. It makes us all truly proud to be a part of this wonderful institution,” said John Halpin, Director General of the College.

The following are the 2017 inductees:


Léonce Boudreau Director of Student Services John Howes First Academic Dean Rabab Naqvi Launched the Library Technology program Lois Siegel Taught English and Film, award winning filmmaker Bill Tierney Founding member of the English department


Jennifer Ditchburn Social Science ’92 David McAusland Social Science ‘73 Anne Montminy Sciences ‘95 Alexander Weil Science ‘03

Celebrated yesterday at a private event; families, friends and colleagues raised their glasses in honour of these impressive individuals.

Featured Posts